VuFind FID-Module

The DFG-fun­ded pro­jects for the deve­lo­p­ment of spe­cial infor­ma­ti­on ser­vices (FID) for Movie‑, Media- and Com­mu­ni­ca­ti­on Sci­ence at the Leip­zig Uni­ver­si­ty Libra­ry and Book, Libra­ry and Infor­ma­ti­on Sci­ence at HAB Wol­fen­büt­tel in coope­ra­ti­on with the Leip­zig Uni­ver­si­ty Libra­ry, deve­lo­ped soft­ware modu­les tailo­red to the spe­ci­fic needs of FID por­tals. They can be easi­ly inte­gra­ted into exis­ting sys­tems. The soft­ware modu­les have been used with the open source dis­co­very soft­ware VuFind. They are part­ly depen­dent on VuFind (see infor­ma­ti­on below). All soft­ware modu­les are open source and can be used free­ly. In the fol­lowing, the soft­ware modu­les will be brief­ly intro­du­ced in theo­ry and practice.

Content modules

FID por­tals often inte­gra­te avai­la­bi­li­ty infor­ma­ti­on for media, which deter­mi­nes best avai­la­bi­li­ty depen­ding on the insti­tu­tio­nal affi­lia­ti­on of the user. For this pur­po­se, FID con­tent modu­les have been deve­lo­ped. Each of them que­ries a spe­ci­fic ser­vice of a third par­ty pro­vi­der with user infor­ma­ti­on. It inte­gra­tes the next best avai­la­bi­li­ty in the por­tal front end. In doing so, FID Con­tent modu­les can be inte­gra­ted on the front-end inter­face in any position.

Boss module

With the boss-modu­le, avai­la­bi­li­ty infor­ma­ti­on for print copies is que­ried and dis­play­ed in the affi­lia­ti­on libra­ry of the FID user. The inte­gra­ti­on is done in VuFind from ver­si­on 5.0 using Com­po­ser and requi­res the avai­la­bi­li­ty of user spe­ci­fic infor­ma­ti­on in the home libra­ry (see Docu­men­ta­ti­on).

Integration of availability information of boss interlibrary loan at the adlr.link catalogue frontend

Source code:
https://git.sc.uni-leipzig.de/ubl/finc/fid/boss-module

Com­po­ser-Packa­ge:
https://packagist.org/packages/finc/boss-module

dbis-module

The dbis-modu­le allows inte­gra­ti­on of the sub­ject data­ba­se ser­vice DBIS in VuFind (e.g. on a sta­tic web page). Fur­ther, it dis­plays access opti­ons depen­ding on the libra­ry affi­lia­ti­on of the user. The inte­gra­ti­on is done in VuFind ver­si­on 5.0 or hig­her using Com­po­ser and requi­res the avai­la­bi­li­ty of user spe­ci­fic infor­ma­ti­on about the libra­ry affi­lia­ti­on (see Docu­men­ta­ti­on).

User-specific integration of subject databases from DBIS in the catalog frontend of adlr.link

Source code:
https://git.sc.uni-leipzig.de/ubl/finc/fid/dbis-module

Com­po­ser-Packa­ge:
https://packagist.org/packages/finc/dbis-module

worldcat-search-module

World­cat-search modu­le allows the direct inte­gra­ti­on of avai­la­bi­li­ty infor­ma­ti­on for print copies in VuFind. The inte­gra­ti­on is done in VuFind ver­si­on 5.0 and hig­her using Com­po­ser (see Docu­men­ta­ti­on).

Integration of Worlcat availability information in the catalog frontend of adlr.link

Source code:
https://git.sc.uni-leipzig.de/ubl/finc/fid/worldcat-search-module

Com­po­ser-Packa­ge:
https://packagist.org/packages/finc/worldcat-search-module

fidis — user administration backend

The user group of FIDs is insti­tu­tio­nal­ly hete­ro­ge­ne­ous. Hence, FID por­tals requi­re authen­ti­ca­ti­on of the user com­mu­ni­ty and the gran­ting of access to licen­sed con­tent after suc­cess­ful authen­ti­ca­ti­on. For this pur­po­se, an inde­pen­dent, lean, easy to reu­se and abo­ve all inter­face-based user manage­ment solu­ti­on was deve­lo­ped. It can be con­nec­ted to exis­ting sys­tems as backend. The API named fidis (FID Infor­ma­ti­on Ser­vice) was imple­men­ted in Sym­f­o­ny and API Plat­form and pro­vi­des the fol­lowing manage­ment functions:

  • Regis­tra­ti­on and log­in to the por­tal, the sto­rage and deli­very of per­so­nal data (pro­fi­le) of the users and the allo­ca­ti­on to spe­ci­fic groups. In con­se­quence, per­mis­si­on to use cer­tain por­tal func­tions such as access to FID licen­ses can be granted.
  • Tech­ni­cal­ly rele­vant infor­ma­ti­on about libra­ries in Ger­man-spea­king coun­tries are del­li­ve­r­ed, which can be indi­ca­ted by users as libra­ry affi­lia­ti­on (e.g. a loca­ti­on-based avai­la­bi­li­ty dis­play is rea­li­zed for each user) 
  • Pro­ces­sing of orders that are trig­ge­red in the front­end. Here, fidis acts as midd­le­wa­re bet­ween the VuFind front­end and the library’s manage­ment sys­tem by cap­tu­ring the orders and initia­ting sub­se­quent processes 
  • .

  • Admi­nis­tra­ti­on of the abo­ve men­tio­ned log­in infor­ma­ti­on and orders by the libra­ri­an admi­nis­tra­ti­on of the respec­ti­ve FID

fidis architecture

Sin­ce all the­se func­tions are acces­si­ble via web inter­faces (API), their com­ple­te inte­gra­ti­on in the web front-end could be rea­li­zed. Neit­her users nor FID coor­di­na­tors have to car­ry out admi­nis­tra­ti­ve actions via other por­tals. Fidis is espe­cial­ly sui­ta­ble as an easi­ly inte­grable manage­ment solu­ti­on for sys­tems like the FID por­tals. It incor­po­ra­tes restric­tions of the backend to the con­crete­ly necessa­ry func­tio­n­a­li­ties on the one hand and the immedia­te adap­ta­bi­li­ty to ari­sing requi­re­ments of the invol­ved FID on the other hand. Fur­ther­mo­re, the admi­nis­tra­ti­on backend can be easi­ly con­nec­ted to other dis­co­very or libra­ry sys­tems due to its inter­face architecture.

Source code:
https://git.sc.uni-leipzig.de/ubl/finc/fid/fidis

Demo

A demo of the fidis backend is avail­ab­le. It can also be con­nec­ted to local VuFind installations:

https://fid-api.finc.info/demo

VuFind integration

For the inte­gra­ti­on into VuFind the fidis cli­ent is requi­red, which is pro­vi­ded as part of the fid-VuFind release by finc user community:
finc-fid_release-20200526–021ed8be.tar.gz

Acknowledgements

The VuFind FID modu­les were deve­lo­ped in the DFG pro­jects “Fach­in­for­ma­ti­ons­dienst für Medien‑, Kom­mu­ni­ka­ti­ons- und Film­wis­sen­schaft “adlr.link”” (DFG pro­ject num­ber 249151017) and “Fach­in­for­ma­ti­ons­dienst Buch‑, Biblio­theks- und Infor­ma­ti­ons­wis­sen­schaft” (DFG pro­ject num­ber 325715238) at Leip­zig Uni­ver­si­ty Libra­ry and HAB Wolfenbüttel.

VuFind FID-Module

In den DFG-geför­der­ten Pro­jek­ten zum Auf­bau von Fach­in­for­ma­ti­ons­diens­ten (FID) für Film‑, Medi­en- und Kom­mu­ni­ka­ti­ons­wis­sen­schaft an der UB Leip­zig sowie Buch‑, Biblio­theks- und Infor­ma­ti­ons­wis­sen­schaft an der HAB Wol­fen­büt­tel in Koope­ra­ti­on mit der UB Leip­zig wur­den Soft­ware-Modu­le ent­wi­ckelt, die auf die spe­zi­fi­schen Bedürf­nis­se von FID-Por­ta­len zuge­schnit­ten und ein­fach in bestehen­de Sys­te­me zu inte­grie­ren sind. Die FID-Modu­le haben sich im Ein­satz mit der Open-Source Dis­co­very-Soft­ware VuFind bewährt und set­zen die­se zum Teil vor­aus (s. Infor­ma­tio­nen unten). Sämt­li­che FID-Modu­le sind Open Source und frei nutz­bar. Im Fol­gen­den sol­len die­se FID-Modu­le kurz vor­ge­stellt, sowie Infor­ma­tio­nen zur Nach­nut­zung gege­ben wer­den.

Content-Module

In FID-Por­ta­len ist häu­fig die Ein­bin­dung von Ver­füg­bar­keits­in­for­ma­tio­nen für Medi­en gewünscht, die je nach insti­tu­tio­nel­ler Zuge­hö­rig­keit des Nut­zen­den die nächst­bes­te Ver­füg­bar­keit ermit­telt. Zu die­sem Zweck wur­den FID-Con­tent-Modu­le ent­wi­ckelt, die jeweils einen spe­zi­fi­schen Dienst eines Dritt­an­bie­ters mit Nut­zer­in­for­ma­tio­nen abfra­gen und die nächst­bes­te Ver­füg­bar­keit im Por­tal-Front­end inte­grie­ren. Dabei wur­de dar­auf Wert gelegt, dass die FID-Con­tent-Modu­le auf der Front­end-Ober­flä­che belie­big posi­tio­nier­bar ein­zu­bin­den sind.

boss-module

Mit dem boss-modu­le wer­den Ver­füg­bar­keits­in­for­ma­tio­nen für Print-Exem­pla­re in der Hei­mat­bi­blio­thek des FID-Nut­zen­den abge­fragt und ange­zeigt. Die Inte­gra­ti­on erfolgt in VuFind ab Ver­si­on 5.0 mit­tels Com­po­ser und setzt die Ver­füg­bar­keit von nut­zer­spe­zi­fi­schen Infor­ma­tio­nen über die Hei­mat­bi­blio­thek vor­aus (s. Doku­men­ta­ti­on).

Integration von Verfügbarkeitsinformationen aus dem boss-Fernleihservice im Katalog-Frontend von adlr.link

Quell­code:
https://git.sc.uni-leipzig.de/ubl/finc/fid/boss-module

Com­po­ser-Packa­ge:
https://packagist.org/packages/finc/boss-module

dbis-module

Das dbis-modu­le ermög­licht die Inte­gra­ti­on des Fach­da­ten­ban­ken-Diens­tes DBIS in VuFind (bspw. auf einer sta­ti­schen Web­sei­te) und die Anzei­ge der Zugangs­mög­lich­kei­ten in Abhän­gig­keit der Hei­mat­bi­blio­thek des FID-Nut­zen­den. Die Inte­gra­ti­on erfolgt in VuFind ab Ver­si­on 5.0 mit­tels Com­po­ser und setzt die Ver­füg­bar­keit von nut­zer­spe­zi­fi­schen Infor­ma­tio­nen über die Hei­mat­bi­blio­thek vor­aus (s. Doku­men­ta­ti­on).

Nutzerspezifische Integration von Fachdatenbanken aus DBIS im Katalog-Frontend von adlr.link

Quell­code:
https://git.sc.uni-leipzig.de/ubl/finc/fid/dbis-module

Com­po­ser-Packa­ge:
https://packagist.org/packages/finc/dbis-module

worldcat-search-module

Das world­cat-search-modu­le erlaubt die direk­te Inte­gra­ti­on von Ver­füg­bar­keits­in­for­ma­tio­nen für Print-Exem­pla­re in VuFind. Die Inte­gra­ti­on erfolgt in VuFind ab Ver­si­on 5.0 mit­tels Com­po­ser (s. Doku­men­ta­ti­on).

Integration der Worlcat-Verfügbarkeitsinformationen im Katalog-Frontend von adlr.link

Quell­code:
https://git.sc.uni-leipzig.de/ubl/finc/fid/worldcat-search-module

Com­po­ser-Packa­ge:
https://packagist.org/packages/finc/worldcat-search-module

fidis — Nutzerverwaltung-Backend

Auf­grund der insti­tu­tio­nell hete­ro­ge­nen Ziel­grup­pe von FIDs ist die Authen­ti­fi­zie­rung der Nut­zer­schaft und die Gewäh­rung von Zugang zu lizen­zier­ten Inhal­ten nach erfolg­rei­cher Authen­ti­fi­zie­rung die zen­tra­le Anfor­de­rung an ein FID-Por­tal. Zu die­sem Zweck wur­de eine eigen­stän­di­ge, schlan­ke, ein­fach nach­nutz­ba­re und vor allem schnitt­stel­len­ba­sier­te Nut­zer­ver­wal­tungs­lö­sung ent­wi­ckelt, die als Backend an bestehen­de Sys­te­me ange­schlos­sen wer­den kann. Die fidis (FID Infor­ma­ti­on Ser­vice) getauf­te API wur­de in Sym­f­o­ny und API Plat­form imple­men­tiert und stellt fol­gen­de Ver­wal­tungs­funk­tio­nen zur Ver­fü­gung:

  • Regis­trie­rung und Anmel­dung (Log­in) am Por­tal, die Abla­ge und Aus­lie­fe­rung von per­sön­li­chen Daten (Pro­fil) der Nut­zen­den und die Zuord­nung die­ser zu bestimm­ten Grup­pen. Damit ver­bun­den ist die Zulas­sung der Benut­zung bestimm­ter Por­tal­funk­tio­nen wie bspw. der Zugriff auf FID-Lizen­zen.
  • Die Aus­lie­fe­rung von tech­nisch rele­van­ten Infor­ma­tio­nen über Biblio­the­ken im deutsch­spra­chi­gen Raum, die von Nut­zen­den als Hei­mat­bi­blio­thek ange­ge­ben wer­den kön­nen (hier­über wird bspw. eine für jede*n Nutzer*in indi­vi­du­el­le, stand­ort­be­zo­ge­ne Ver­füg­bar­keits­an­zei­ge rea­li­siert)
  • Die Abwick­lung von Bestel­lun­gen, die im Front­end aus­ge­löst wer­den. Hier agiert fidis als Midd­le­wa­re zwi­schen dem VuFind-Front­end und dem Ver­wal­tungs­sys­tem der Biblio­thek, indem es die Bestel­lun­gen erfasst und Fol­ge­pro­zes­se anstößt
  • Die Ver­wal­tung der o.g. Anmel­de­in­for­ma­tio­nen und Bestel­lun­gen durch die biblio­the­ka­ri­sche Admi­nis­tra­ti­on des jewei­li­gen FID

fidis Architektur

Da all die­se Funk­tio­nen über Web-Schnitt­stel­len erreich­bar sind (API), konn­te deren voll­stän­di­ge Inte­gra­ti­on im Web-Front­end rea­li­siert wer­den, sodass weder Nut­zen­de noch FID-Koordinator*innen Ver­wal­tungs­ak­tio­nen über ande­re Por­ta­le aus­füh­ren müs­sen. Durch die Beschrän­kung des Backends auf die kon­kret not­wen­di­gen Funk­tio­na­li­tä­ten einer­seits und die unmit­tel­ba­re Anpass­bar­keit an ent­ste­hen­de Anfor­de­run­gen der betei­lig­ten FID auf der ande­ren Sei­te ist fidis als ein­fach inte­grier­ba­re Ver­wal­tungs­lö­sung für Sys­te­me, wie die FID-Por­ta­le, beson­ders geeig­net. Wei­ter­hin kann erwähnt wer­den, dass – obwohl der Anschluss an VuFind im Mit­tel­punkt stand – das Ver­wal­tungs­ba­ckend auf­grund sei­ner Schnitt­stel­len­ar­chi­tek­tur pro­blem­los auch an ande­re Dis­co­very- oder Biblio­theks­sys­te­me ange­schlos­sen wer­den kann.

Quell­code:
https://git.sc.uni-leipzig.de/ubl/finc/fid/fidis

Demo

Eine Demo des fidis-Backends kann unter fol­gen­der URL aus­pro­biert und auch an loka­le VuFind-Instal­la­tio­nen ange­bun­den wer­den:

https://fid-api.finc.info/demo

VuFind-Integration

Zur Inte­gra­ti­on in VuFind wird der fidis-Cli­ent benö­tigt, der als Teil des fid-VuFind Relea­ses von der finc-Nut­zer­ge­mein­schaft bereit­ge­stellt wird:

finc-fid_release-20200526–021ed8be.tar.gz

Danksagung

Die VuFind FID Modu­le wur­den im Rah­men der DFG-Pro­jek­te „Fach­in­for­ma­ti­ons­dienst für Medien‑, Kom­mu­ni­ka­ti­ons- und Film­wis­sen­schaft “adlr.link”“ (DFG Pro­jekt­num­mer 249151017) und „Fach­in­for­ma­ti­ons­dienst Buch‑, Biblio­theks- und Infor­ma­ti­ons­wis­sen­schaft“ (DFG Pro­jekt­num­mer 325715238) an der Uni­ver­si­täts­bi­blio­thek Leip­zig und der HAB Wol­fen­büt­tel ent­wi­ckelt.