IIIF

Leip­zig Uni­ver­si­ty Libra­ry (UBL) pro­vi­des access to its high-qua­li­ty digi­ti­sed mate­ri­al accord­ing to the API stan­dards of the Inter­na­tio­nal Image Inter­ope­ra­bi­li­ty Frame­work (IIIF). This is a modern stan­dard based on JSON-LD.

The IIIF APIs are par­ti­cu­lar­ly well sui­ted for inte­gra­ting UBL image con­tent direct­ly into your own web­sites, app­li­ca­ti­ons and apps without having to copy or edit the images. With IIIF, an inter­face is avail­ab­le that allows you to dyna­mi­cal­ly access UBL’s rich data collec­tions from your own applications.

Fol­lowing the spe­ci­fi­ca­ti­ons of IIIF, the UBL’s hol­dings are hier­ar­chi­cal­ly divi­ded into collec­tions, biblio­gra­phic units are repre­sen­ted by mani­fests. Both are done accord­ing to the spe­ci­fi­ca­ti­ons of the IIIF Pre­sen­ta­ti­on API. From the mani­fests, access to the actu­al digi­ti­zed mate­ri­al is pos­si­ble accord­ing to the spe­ci­fi­ca­ti­ons of the IIIF Image API.

At this time the UBL sup­ports ver­si­on 2 of the IIIF API stan­dards. For a descrip­ti­on of all func­tions of the APIs plea­se read the descrip­ti­ons on https://iiif.io

Collections

You can access UBL’s data sets via the collec­tions on the top level:

https://iiif.ub.uni-leipzig.de/static/collections/toplevel.json

Sub­or­di­na­te collec­tions are lin­ked in JSON and can be tracked :

https://iiif.ub.uni-leipzig.de/static/collections/Buchhandschriften/collection.json

Manifests

Collec­tions at the lowest level refer to the mani­fests of the biblio­gra­phic units assi­gned to them. The­se can also be retrie­ved via HTTPS.

https://iiif.ub.uni-leipzig.de/0000004604/manifest.json

IIIF

Die Uni­ver­si­täts­bi­blio­thek Leip­zig (UBL) stellt den Zugang zu ihren hoch­wer­ti­gen Digi­ta­li­sa­ten flä­chen­de­ckend nach den API-Stan­dards des Inter­na­tio­nal Image Inter­ope­ra­bi­li­ty Frame­work (IIIF) bereit. Dabei han­delt es sich um einen moder­nen, auf JSON-LD beru­hen­den Standard.

Die IIIF APIs eig­nen sich beson­ders gut dafür, Bild­in­hal­te der UBL direkt in eige­nen Web­sites, Anwen­dun­gen und Apps ein­zu­bin­den, ohne die Bil­der kopie­ren oder bear­bei­ten zu müs­sen. Mit IIIF steht eine Schnitt­stel­le bereit, die es erlaubt, aus eige­nen Anwen­dun­gen her­aus dyna­misch auf den rei­chen Daten­be­stand der UBL zugrei­fen zu können.

Den Spe­zi­fi­ka­tio­nen von IIIF fol­gend sind die Bestän­de der UBL hier­ar­chisch in Collec­tions unter­glie­dert, biblio­gra­phi­sche Ein­hei­ten wer­den von Mani­fes­ten reprä­sen­tiert. Bei­des erfolgt nach den Fest­le­gun­gen der IIIF Pre­sen­ta­ti­on API. Aus den Mani­fes­ten her­aus ist der Zugriff auf die eigent­li­chen Digi­ta­li­sa­te nach den Fest­le­gun­gen der IIIF Image API möglich.

Zum gegen­wär­ti­gen Zeit­punkt unter­stützt die UBL die Ver­si­on 2 der IIIF API Stan­dards. Für eine Beschrei­bung aller Funk­tio­nen der APIs lesen Sie bit­te die Beschrei­bun­gen auf https://iiif.io

Collections

Der Ein­stieg in die Samm­lun­gen der UBL erfolgt über die Collec­tions auf der obers­ten Ebene:

https://iiif.ub.uni-leipzig.de/static/collections/toplevel.json

Unter­ge­ord­ne­te Samm­lun­gen sind im JSON ver­knüpft und kön­nen ent­spre­chend nach­ver­folgt werden:

https://iiif.ub.uni-leipzig.de/static/collections/Buchhandschriften/collection.json

Manifeste

Collec­tions der unters­ten Ebe­ne ver­wei­sen auf die Mani­fes­te der ihnen zuge­ord­ne­ten biblio­gra­phi­schen Ein­hei­ten. Dies kön­nen eben­falls per HTT­PS abge­ru­fen werden.

https://iiif.ub.uni-leipzig.de/0000004604/manifest.json